COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE (CDL) LAWYER
Truck Drivers have a special interest in keeping their record clean. At the Law Offices of Robert L. Lichtenstein, we understand these special cases. We give the care and attention to detail that is necessary to protect your living. As an experienced CDL Attorney, Robert L. Lichtenstein has represented professional drivers all over the nation for over twenty-five (25) years.
If you are in a “jam”, call us today at (804) 452-5424 to find out how we can help you move forward!
CDL TRAFFIC ATTORNEY
We can help commercial drivers with all types of Virginia traffic infractions including:
• Log Books
• Overweight Citations
• Inspection Violations
Many insurance companies are now dropping their truck drivers if they accrue more than 2 driving points. Rules and programs designed to allow the commercial driver to avoid convictions are being rolled back, and tickets are becoming harder and harder to handle. Protect your record, and protect your living. Let us help you!
Commercial drivers face many additional pitfalls when dealing with traffic tickets. In addition to any consequences that a commercial driver may face due to the policies of his employer, the Commonwealth of Virginia has different rules for commercial drivers that are much more strict than for non-commercial drivers. In many ways, a commercial driver’s driving record acts as his job resumé. Insurance is also a major concern—liability premiums for a commercial driver can be very costly.
As you can see, there are many complications involving citations issued to CDL drivers. Robert L. Lichtenstein has helped hundreds of CDL drivers, and we understand the serious implications because driving is how you make your living. It is always advisable to contact an attorney to assist with these violations.
Penalties for Virginia Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.
You will lose your Virginia CDL for 1 year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
- Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Using the vehicle to commit a felony
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving
These violations include:
- Speeding 15 MPH over the posted speed limit
- Reckless driving
- Improper lane changes
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
- Violating a state law of texting while driving
A 2nd conviction of any combination of these violations (within 3 years) will lead to the loss of your driving privileges for 60 days, or 120 days for a subsequent conviction of any combination of these offenses.
Duration of a CDL or Commercial Learner’s Permit In Virginia
Normally, your Virginia CDL is valid for eight years and expires on your birthday. Your first license will expire on your birthday in the eighth year of license validity.
Individuals required to register with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (Virginia Code Chapter 9 of Title 9.1) (Registry) will be issued licenses valid for five years. They are not eligible for a Virginia commercial driver’s license/commercial learner’s permit with an “S” endorsement during any period in which registration with the Registry is required. In addition, they are also not eligible for a Virginia CDL or CLP with a “P” endorsement unless it bears a restriction code prohibiting the driver from transporting children for school and/or daycare activities.
For many individuals domiciled in another country but authorized to be in the U.S. temporarily, a CLP/CDL will carry the notation “non-domiciled CDL” or “non-domiciled CLP” and will be valid only for the amount of time that the individual is legally permitted to stay in the U.S. These individuals will not be eligible to receive a CLP/CDL if their authorized stay in the U.S. is less than 30 days from the date of their application. The expiration of the CDL will be the same as the expiration date shown on the document used to prove legal presence. If the document does not show an expiration date, the CDL will be valid for one year.
Commercial learner’s permits are issued for a period of 180 days and may be renewed one time without testing. Individuals temporarily authorized to be in the U.S. and who have fewer than 180 days remaining, will receive a commercial learner’s permit with the same expiration date as shown on the document used to prove legal presence.
Robert L. Lichtenstein, Esquire
222 N. Main Street, Suite 300
Post Office Box 1447
Hopewell, Virginia 23860
(804) 452-2899 (fax)
Thank you so much!
My Attorney for Life
Awesome Customer Service
Couldn’t Be Happier
"Great Result and all I had to do was get you a copy of my driving record! Thank you."
Kept My CDL